The universe is gaslighting me.

I was talking to a friend of mine, and she was like “Hey! I was reading this article on gaslighting the other day and I totally think the universe is gaslighting you.”

Because the universe never lets me go long before it starts messing with me. This is one of those times.

Me right now. Source.

Me right now. Source.

I’ve spent the majority of this week in a near-constant state of anxiety. Oddly not due to politics. But thanks to politics at least I have lots of company.

I’ll be back when I don’t feel like an animal chewing it’s foot out of a trap.

Probably next week.

PS – Here are a few comic strips I like to go to for distraction, if like me, you’re needing a little escapism right now:

Gun Show

Sarah’s Scribbles

The Pigeon Gazette

Silence Killed the Dinosaurs (this one’s a comic/blog blend)

13 thoughts on “The universe is gaslighting me.

    • No problem!

      Also, I don’t know how to punch the universe in the face. Literally or metaphorically. Curling up in a ball and crying is really more of my specialty.

      Should I just join kickboxing and take it from there? It’s probably important that I know how to throw a punch, at least.

      ;-P

      Liked by 2 people

        • It’s useful for a variety of situations.

          Fights with the universe, zombie apocalypses, kidnapping attempts, the next person to cut in front of me at Starbucks before I get my caffeine fix…

          Wow, perhaps I shouldn’t know how to punch people.

          Or would it be like Spiderman, “With great power comes great responsibility”, and I would suddenly be a good person?

          But I don’t have a wise old grampa to teach me, so I’m probably fucked.

          I just realized that my actual superpower is more like ‘the ability to ramble on forever’.

          Shit.

          Like

  1. “if you don’t know whattittizz, it izz prawbubbly happenatingly to you” — I don’t know what GL-ing is (and my huge dictionary (not as huge as my huge pillow which I cry myself to sleep on) didn’t help) — so …

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s certainly a complex issue, but in a nutshell:

      gas·light
      ˈɡaslīt/
      verb
      gerund or present participle: gaslighting

      manipulate (someone) by psychological means into questioning their own sanity.
      "in the first episode, Karen Valentine is being gaslighted by her husband"
      

      Liked by 1 person

Comment! Comment on other comments! Let's talk! (You do not need a Wordpress account to comment)

