What’s up, Pinterest?

I’M BACK BITCHES!

Sorry for the extended absence. Life got pretty unsettled, but it’s calmed down. For a hot minute (a couple of days) I was working six jobs trying to make ends meet. SIX. Like some kind of masochistic psychopath. They say there’s no jobs. A job recession. Why?

BECAUSE I HAVE ALL THE JOBS.

Not anymore though! Now I’m just working one, super-awesome job and making a decent living. Also, they have my same twisted sense of humour. More on that later.

So today I got a notification from Pinterest:

WTF Pinterest?

WTF Pinterest?

What? Why?

Usually Pinterest is like:

“We’ve got new boards for you in tattoos.”

Or,

“We’ve got new boards for you in art.”

Which makes sense, cause I’ve pinned a bunch of those things. But my love affair with Pinterest ended and I pretty much stopped using it. So it’s been awhile since I responded.

And now I think I’ve unsettled Pinterest’s confidence, and it’s just taking stabs in the dark. Like:

“We’ve got recommended boards for you in, oh I don’t know, chicken?”

Get your shit together Pinterest. This is embarrassing for all of us.

 

Comment of the Day:

“Pinterest is really bad a working out what I actually want to see. I pinned one or two things to do with writing amid a bunch of art and books and knitting and other pins, and then it flooded me with ALL THE WRITING AND NOTHING ELSE. And they’re all the really negative articles (“10 mistakes writers make right before they get stabbed on the street by readers who hate them so much they’re willing to go to jail for the rest of their lives just to get rid of the writer and then also the writer goes to hell to be tortured for all eternity because the universe unanimously voted that they deserved it and apparently this overrides the writer’s belief that hell isn’t actually a thing”) that give me super writer’s block. And I can’t seem to re-train Pinterest to just show me art and books and weird nerdy knitting patterns and leave the writing alone.”

This is from Silence Killed the Dinosaurs. If you haven’t read that blog yet, you should. It’s hilarious. And awesome. Hilariously awesome. That’s like the highest level of blogging.

 

Save

14 thoughts on “What’s up, Pinterest?

    • Definitely. All Dad jokes are failures at heart. That’s what makes them comedy gold. I have a friend who hysterically laughs at Dad jokes. The worse the better. I collect them for her.

      And WELCOME! 😀

      Sorry it took so long to respond. I broke my face recently. Read tomorrow’s post for confirmation.

      Like

  1. I want to know what’s on those chicken boards.

    Pinterest is really bad a working out what I actually want to see. I pinned one or two things to do with writing amid a bunch of art and books and knitting and other pins, and then it flooded me with ALL THE WRITING AND NOTHING ELSE. And they’re all the really negative articles (“10 mistakes writers make right before they get stabbed on the street by readers who hate them so much they’re willing to go to jail for the rest of their lives just to get rid of the writer and then also the writer goes to hell to be tortured for all eternity because the universe unanimously voted that they deserved it and apparently this overrides the writer’s belief that hell isn’t actually a thing”) that give me super writer’s block. And I can’t seem to re-train Pinterest to just show me art and books and weird nerdy knitting patterns and leave the writing alone.

    Also, good work on sorting out the job situation. Six seems a bit excessive.

    Like

  2. You really need to get back on working. I mean really, ONLY 6 jobs? How can you justify working so little? I know the economy is pretty bad, but you should be at least able to work 7 or 8 jobs minimum. By the way, I’m going to school right now and I have zero jobs right now. So take that.

    Like

    • Soooo jealous! But congrats on the school thing! What are you taking? Fill me in!

      PS – you’re right… I really need to be less lazy and pick up a few more jobs like a contributing member of the economy.

      Like

  3. You are right my darling granddaughter, there is work for people that are willing to work. Kudos.
    An Pinterest is a sneaky site. I try to get Payge to stay off it. She gets many unwanted Cookies, Trojans with downloads from Pinterest. that are just trying to get you back to crap you don’t want or locks the screen until you read it and find the escape.

    Like

    • I think the job market is far too complex to sum up in a sentence or two – and just because there’s work does not mean there’s good work.

      I believe I also mentioned that I was working all those jobs because I was struggling to make ends meet. That was detrimental to my health and unsustainable long term.

      It comes down to so much more than just “work for those who are willing”.

      Like

Comment! Comment on other comments! Let's talk! (You do not need a Wordpress account to comment)

