I love Graffiti – Part 2

Welcome to the second installment of I love Graffiti.  If you’re new here, the first installment can be found here.

It snowed today, and reminded of this picture that I found last winter and I just had to share it with you.

 

Yup.  This pretty much sums up how I feel about winter.

Yup. This pretty much sums up how I feel about winter.

Seriously, I live in Canada and our winters can be brutal.  If you live somewhere like California and have no idea what I’m talking about I hate you can I come live with you for the next 5-7 months? I’ll totally clean up after myself and walk the dog and everything.  You won’t even know I’m there.  I promise.

I offer the following proof of the fabled Canadian winter:

This is like a winter 'Where's Waldo' edition of 'Find my car!'.  I'll help you out.  It's hiding under a pile of snow.

This is like a winter ‘Where’s Waldo’ edition of ‘Find my car!’. I’ll help you out. It’s hiding under a pile of snow.

Think of scraping ice off your car in minus 20 temperatures.  Think of slipping and falling on the ice.  It will happen at least once every winter.  Think of frostbite.  Seriously, I got frostbite on my ear last winter.  Not that gross your-skin-totally-turns-black kind.  Mild frostbite.  It was weird.  My skin was really dry and hard for like a week and now my ear hurts in the cold and it is forevermore more susceptible to frostbite.  I am a grown-ass adult (I know – the adult thing is debatable when it comes to me) and I got frostbite on my ear because I forgot a hat that day.  On a side note – is there someone I can talk to about revoking my adult membership?  Cause it mostly sucks.  I mean, breakfast beer is cool.  And so is not having a curfew (even though I always stay out too late).  But this whole you-have-to-be-responsible-and-go-to-work-so-you-can-pay-your-bills thing?  Totally bogus.

Care for a nice little stroll downtown?  No?  I can't possibly see why not.

Care for a nice little stroll downtown? No? I can’t possibly see why not.

But I digress.  Winter’s not all bad.  When you wake up to everything covered in a fresh blanket of snow and the whole world is glittering in the morning sun it is pretty magical.  Or snowshoeing.  Skating.  Random blizzards that give you an unexpected day off work and make you feel like a kid that doesn’t have to go to school that day all over again.  Filling a water balloon with a mixture of red dye and water and then building a snowman with the balloon in it’s head and having an elaborate war game with people divided into two teams, one protecting the snowman and one trying to gruesomely stab the snowman in the head to replicate a murder scene.  I mean, I’ve never actually done that last one but it sounds AWESOME.

I guess what I’m saying is winter is full of ups and downs, good and bad alike.  Much like the rest of life.

The best only thing to do is crack a beer and find a hockey game on TV.  Here’s wishing you a happy Canadian winter!

This is the view from my deck in the summer.  It's beautiful, uplifting, idyllic.

This is the view from my deck in the summer. It’s beautiful, uplifting, idyllic.

This is the view from my deck in the winter.  I feel like this view simply says "Fuck you."  I think I'm just gonna go back to bed.

This is the view from my deck in the winter. I feel like this view simply says “Fuck you.”

 

Comment! Comment on other comments! Let's talk! (You do not need a Wordpress account to comment)

