Sushi is totally the new birthday cake.

If you’re new here you might wanna skip this post.  I got thrown into the great unknown so I’m a little off-balance.  I’ll be back to my funny regular self soon.

It’s been a week of ups and downs for me.  The day before my birthday, at the end of my shift, I got laid off.  They need to hire for a new position, and with a small staff and limited funding, that meant they had to cut my position.  I was blindsided.

So I woke up on my birthday with no job.  I’m not gonna lie – I totally took it in stride the phrase grace under pressure comes to mind I burned the place down I did some crying.  These things happen though, and I’m going to try to look on the bright side.  This means that a new exciting chapter is starting in my life.  I have no idea what that’s going to look like yet, but I know it’s going to be wonderful.

Probably.

That’s enough of that!  Today I met a friend of mine for birthday lunch.  We went to a sushi place that we love and frequent often.  As we sat down at our usual table and ordered far too much food my friend causally mentioned it was my birthday.  She told me her reasoning was that they know me there and love me there and she was hoping they’d do something.  And did they ever!

Near the end of our meal they brought out a plate with seaweed salad, goyja (dumplings), and avocado sushi pizza complete with a birthday candle.  As they set the plate down they started playing ‘Happy Birthday’ over the restaurant’s sound system.  Talk about awesome!

This year I didn’t have birthday cake.  As I blew out the candle on my birthday sushi, I was thankful that I have a life filled with people so wonderful it’s impossible to be sad for long.  I am thankful for my friends.  I am thankful for my family.  I am thankful for sushi.

As I blew out my candle, despite it all, life was good.

birthday sushi

PS – No, I can’t tell you what I wished for.  Then it won’t come true.  And I would get stabbed by a unicorn.  I mean, I assume they’re the enforcers of the rules of wishes.  I didn’t make the rules, I just follow them.  Much like the mafia.  Wait, forget I said anything.  I don’t want to get stabbed by the mafia.  The first rule of mafias is you don’t talk about the mafia.

PPS – Wait, that’s fight club.  Never mind.

PPPS – Holy shit you guys, unicorn mafia. That would be the greatest thing ever.  Or the worst.  Could go either way really.

PPPPS – Getting stabbed by a unicorn would pretty much be the awesomest way to go.

PPPPPS – Spell-check is saying that ‘awesomest’ isn’t a real word.  Pretty sure I just used it and that makes it a word spell-check.  So there.

Comment! Comment on other comments! Let's talk! (You do not need a Wordpress account to comment)

