I’ve been away making irresponsible decisions

Is it really a ‘Throwback Thursday piece if it happened three days ago?  I say yes.

*******

Sorry for the hiatus – my work sent me away to another province for three days for ‘Professional Development & Recognition’.  I wrote a post for you before I left but then it didn’t seem funny enough so I didn’t publish it and then I got distracted because I procrastinated packing and then went into panic mode.  So the usual.

I had to rent a car and drive through three provinces (it’s not a far as it sounds but still pretty far) and in a city I wasn’t familiar with.  I have PTSD (probably) from a bad car accident a few years ago that I can’t actually remember (I spent three months in the hospital and was in a wheelchair for awhile – that’s another story for another time).  So I was pretty stressed out about the whole thing and therefore a little more flustered than usual but to be honest I’m not great to start with and usually just somehow make things more complicated than they need to be.

So I forgot an important piece of paper for a presentation that I had to give during the conference (way to start out on the wrong foot me) which threw off my morning schedule just a tid.  My first stop along this journey was at the International Airport in Halifax to pick up a couple of colleagues I hadn’t met yet.  I was wound up the night before and stayed up a little too late – from the stress of driving and not having packed at all – so I was pretty tired and drinking a lot of coffee.  When I arrived at the airport I decided to run in to use the bathroom and check the flights to make sure they weren’t delayed.  When I came back out my car was gone.  I think I walked in three circles wondering if I had managed come out the wrong door.  I didn’t.  I somehow didn’t notice the signs posted everywhere stating that unattended vehicles will be towed.  As it turns out?  They take that shit seriously yo.  I was gone maybe 7 minutes.

But I got the car back fairly quickly (before my colleagues even arrived) and it only cost me $17.95 so it turned out alright.  I was thankful it wasn’t much worse than that (can you imagine?  “It’s nice to meet you – I’m sorry, I got our car towed.  Would you like to go splits on getting a cab to the impound lot a million miles away?  I’m kind of broke.  Also, I think we’re going to miss the first session of the conference.”).

Then I stopped along the way to refuel and my corporate card wouldn’t work.  I have no idea why.  When I called about it later the card company actually didn’t know why either – so that one’s totally not on me.  One of the colleagues I picked up ended up using hers.  Shortly after – seriously like 10 minutes later – we got lost.

You know, come to think of it, I think I could’ve really used that ‘Development’ piece of the conference.  I should have paid better attention.

There were deer at this conference.  This is a terrible picture taken through a window and you can totally see the reflection of my lanyard.  This is also the ONLY outdoor picture I took.  At a beautiful location.  So you're welcome. Or I'm sorry.  One of those.

There were deer at this conference. This is a terrible picture taken through a window and you can totally see the reflection of my lanyard. This is also the ONLY outdoor picture I took. At a beautiful location. So you’re welcome. Or I’m sorry. One of those.

SIDE NOTE: This kind of thing happens to me all the time so I really just found it funny.  Also, we did make it to the conference on schedule and I had a blast and learned a lot.  Mainly that newfies know how to party.

They gave us playdough to play with during the sessions to keep our hands busy.  BRILLIANT.

They gave us playdough to play with during the sessions to keep our hands busy. BRILLIANT.

All I did was make flowers during all the sessions.  It was AWESOME.

Seriously, all I did was make flowers during all the sessions. It was AWESOME.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SIDE NOTE 2:  I made it through the whole thing without freaking out AT ALL and I’m actually pretty proud of myself.  I didn’t have an anxiety attack once during all that driving, even in heavy traffic.  My presentation went over really well, I was even told I’m a great public speaker and definitely right for the job.  And I made a lot of new work friends.

4 thoughts on “I’ve been away making irresponsible decisions

  1. The key to life is not letting stress get under your skin to ruin your life experiences 🙂 Even if you make irresponsible decisions it’s all in how you deal with the outcome which I would say you did fantabulously! 😀 Want to hear more about how the “…newfies know how to party” lol.

    Like

  2. I can picture every single one of these things. Especially the doing a great job part !! (and the getting lost too) One tiny peeve. I think you mean colleagues as opposed to those colleges you were picking up. See what a helpful follower I can be !!

    Like

Comment! Comment on other comments! Let's talk! (You do not need a Wordpress account to comment)

